Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

Back to Mega-Plex Bathhouse

ALL REVIEWS FOR MEGA-PLEX BATHHOUSE (25)

  • tomy.m.santiago gave this place *
    24/7 playground
    Like

    Mar 10 at 6:50am ·

  • Soccercaptain gave this place *
    Going down hill FAST!
    I hadn't been in a year and was shocked what had been a rather nice place looks like the aftermath of a foreclosure. The carpets were all taken up so now it is just cold clammy cement. The towel racks are falling off the wall. ( do they own a power drill with a screw driver attachment). The rooms are fine although the sheets are so old that the black sheets are now faded gray and the pillows are antique lumpy blobs. All if the bathrooms have one thing or another out of order at all times. Doors seem to be falling off everything and cannot be fixed. It seems the clientele is fed up with the total lack of maintenance , clearly business is way off since they are closing off 50% of it to make it part of the straight club next door. Why has no one else in providence picked up on the incredible opportunity to open a NICE new club ??? Clearly the old crusty STRAIGHT owners of this down trodden dump are oblivious to what gay men expect from an entertainment venue. Here are a few 'highlights' of the sinking ship : The video monitor is busted so it only shows pornd in black and white, the soap dispensers are busted , so guys have had to remove the tops so you have to stick your hand into the tank, several machines leak water from the ceilings so there are puddles in random places everywhere , they took out the hot water tap ( for tea bags and coffee ) thrn stuck a dead plastic plant in the sink! They are so cheap that they stopped having bowls of mints. They closed off a few rooms and rather than lock them, they have the doors covered in duct tape like murder just took place ! The railing at the entry area rusted pry and fell off, so yup you guessed it, more crime scene tape ( and this is the FIRST thing you see when you walk toward the door ! Apparently there has been so much vandalism to cars that they closed off thier lot AND dropped their security guard ( how does that make sense?). The entry area is littered with rakes, shovels , cleaning carts , bags of sand etc! What should be the best thing, the entry area, looks like the underside of a storage shed. I give up. I cannot even think of ALL the beat up decayed trash , it's iverwhelming. I guess the thing to do is hope the other club is better, it just make the trek up to Montreal - where everyone says it's amazing. Sux Boston does not have a club. 8(

    Feb 2 at 11:41pm ·

  • Silverback gave this place *
    Good enough but deserves some improvement
    On the up side, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and the fees are reasonable. There's plenty of off-street parking. Daily themes are fun. Towels and sheets are clean and smell washed. There's plenty of space (perhaps even too much) to wander and meet men. You can get a room with its own shower. I like the cockring-sized glory holes, I can just fit my meat through but then I'm trapped (in a good way) until someone makes me cum. And you can always get a fresh cup of coffee from their Keurig machine. On the down side, A lot could be done to step up from "just acceptable" to "good". It was raining when I visited and the foyer ceiling leaked. There was no hot water in the showers. There were 4 bathrooms, two were locked and not in service, one had no lights and the toilets had overflowed poopy water onto the floor. Cold tile and concrete floors were clammy and slippery with condensation. Duct tape across out-of-service rooms made it look like a crime scene. Years ago there was a small weight room but it's gone now. Someone had pissed on the floor in one of the glory hole alcoves. There are a lot of ways the space could be improved at minor expense and the Mega-Plex has been around long enough to deserve some spiffing up. I know I'd go more if I could get a hot shower and the floors were cleaner and drier.

    Dec 8 at 10:24pm ·

  • BostonBartender gave this place *
    Nice place to be your true self
    This is a very clean and professionally run club. It is amazing that it is in an industrial area of Providence yet when you scan the license plates of cars parked you see not only Rhode Island, but Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and even on the rare occasion New York Maine, and Vermont. Very low key place - and very clean.

    Nov 27 at 1:31pm ·

  • numonex gave this place *
    Seemed ok to me
    Not sure what all the complaining is about.. After reading all the negative reviews I was expecting cum to be dripping from the walls and human poo on the floor!! I went with my BF and to my surprise I found the place very clean and everything was working fine. Took a shower and checked out the steam room, which was far from broken.. So much steam there I couldnt see a thing which was fun for playing. The sauna was pitch black tho, maybe intentionally.. We found ourselves playing around on the sex swing and it didnt take long for a crowd to gather.. All in all a solid 4 stars!!

    Aug 6 at 7:00pm ·

  • subhomo gave this place *
    love this place
    i love this place lots of guys i suck 11 guys and bottomed for 8 i even got it in a sex swing this place will make you feel horny as hell alot of cum in me when i left this place is 5 stars *****

    Jul 31 at 7:54pm ·

  • Cowboy23 gave this place *
    Horrible
    I have visited many bathhouses in the USA and around the world, and have never felt so dirty or unhappy in my life. I guess if you're into rude management and rude employees I guess its alright but it seems the place has never had an work done on it. There were holes in the room I rented like someone had kicked it or punched a hole. And the visitors were all old fat men. it seems like there is no campaigning of the bathhouse. And when I brought my concerns to the manager he was extremely rude and queenish acting. i would definitely not recommend it.

    Jul 1, 2013 at 3:53pm ·

  • veryhotass4u gave this place *
    beeen there done that
    hoping to find more hung tops there some night and get 6 in a room and have gang bang look for me if ya see me you will know its me

    Mar 20, 2013 at 1:02pm ·

  • traveler333 gave this place *
    It depends on the night and luck
    Providence is a small city and it is great that it has even one bath house, let alone 2. You have some locals that go there and then people that drive their from MA and CT where they are not allowed. You have to go on a night when people are going to want to go out. A Monday night or something like that will be dead. I've had some good times there. But then there have been slow times too.

    Dec 23, 2012 at 7:47am ·

  • Blucollarguy gave this place *
    I don't recommend this place
    I've been to many similar places all over the country and the world...I found Megaplex to be dirty, expensive, uncomfortable and poorly managed. If you're into sleazy dirty, run-down places where there is no reinvestment in the club or maintenance then go. They flip flopped on the rates at the door even though their prices are posted on Facebook and tried to charge me $10.00 more. There is no website for good reason...they don't want you to see what the place looks like. My room had a dirty floor when I walked in. All they seem to do is throw on new sheets when rooms are vacated. It was not worth $35.00 which is what I paid to get into this awful place.

    Nov 26, 2012 at 5:35pm ·

  • Rides123 gave this place *
    Friday night
    Came to visit on Friday night, and to my surprise there have been some nice additions to the megaplex. A more spacious gloryhole room, the other was a bit cramped, a big screen tv added in the porn room, and a dungeon room. Not really my style, but for those who are into that, it would sure make for a fun time. -!: And too top of my trip here, I had at least a 10 inch black cock to suck, the biggest dick I've ever seen. Made my night, also it's being increased to an 8 hr stay, just check pricing when you visit. Enjoy!

    Oct 6, 2012 at 2:44am ·

  • tazboy6969 gave this place *
    Falling Apart
    I visited MP on a sunday night two weeks ago with decent expectations as the times I stopped in last year were damn hot. It was bear night which really isnt my thing but had nothing else going on so drove 45 min from where I was staying. On checkin, the first news I get is the video system is out. I grab my towel, head in and find my room to strip down. A hot guy was behind me coming in so I had decent hopes. Changed into my towel planning on a shower n steam and hopefully start the night off. Good news is the hot young guy was there showering. Lots of bad news..He was a dancer from next door cleaning up I found out after and he rushed right out after a fat old guy started leering at him. Too bad, he was hot and hung... Next I look over and find the steam room is broken..great. So after toweling off I start to cruise and all that i find are old, creepy dudes..no one even close to marginal. I wandered around to see if I can find the young guy I hung out for about two hours and nothing changed. Maybe 5 people total in the place...the old guys were huddled in sauna waiting to pounce, the floors were sticky and gross..the videos playing were lame...and they recent raised member and non member prices.. My previous visit last august was hot , but looks like things canged or was a bad night. Last time , lots of hung, hot guys, plenty of BBC which I like and played for hours. Only bummer was my car was broken into in back lot and my phone was stolen. Dont leave anything out in plain view or you could be next and avoid the back lot if possible. Guess I have to try CBC when I'm back in area in a couple of weeks...too bad. Always had fun at MP...If they dont start fixing and cleaning up the place, no one will cum except the deperate and gross.

    Aug 2, 2012 at 10:47pm ·

  • sam.mccaffrey1 gave this place *
    Another dying house of sin.
    (Note: This review is not about the clientele or the action I may or may not have had in this place but of the facility itself.) Upon entry to the facility I found the front area to be very self explanatory and standard for this type of facility. The clerk was relatively friendly with me and the check in process was simple. The first area in the place I quite enjoyed as a public sitting room with comfy couches and coffee and a great atmosphere. If this front room was consistent with the rest of the facility I would give this place a 4 star review. That being said after being at several bath houses in other cities there are certain things I expect which were not to be found here. 1. The door to my room doesn't auto lock upon closing. Fortunately I caught on to this fact early that if I wanted my room to be locked I had to turn the key to the locked position. In most Bathhouses usually the room auto locks when you shut the door. 2. Lighting. There is a difference between dark and insufficiently lit. There were spots in the facility where I pretty much couldn't see where I was going or what was around me. Some really soft lighting would help this place immensely. 3. Porn and Porn room. The Porn viewing room was lacking in a decent amount of seating and the porn playing was possibly older than I was. The glory hole booths next to the porn room felt like they were there as an afterthought and not very well thought out. 4. Lack of amenities (currently) The Steam room is currently not functioning, there are doors that state "Tubs" or "Showers" but they do not appear to be in use either. Very disappointing as these are what separate a bathhouse from a sex club in my opinion. Finally, I am sure that when this place was built there was a lot more going on with it that it had the money to keep amenities running etc, but like most bathhouses it's dying out slowly, it's a shame but there you go. Perhaps if they get an upsurge of guests inside their walls they can restore this place to a semblance of what it must have been in it's heyday. As is now it's just another sad bathhouse who has fallen on hard times. (Or they may not care, which is also possible)

    Jul 17, 2012 at 4:05am ·

  • dave4012005 gave this place *
    Mega-plex 6/22/12
    This was my first time at the Mega-plex. I arrived at about 3:30 and on a Friday afternoon and found that there were a few other guys there. I didn't stay long but I didn't have to. A brief time in the dry sauna and I was satisfied. I'd like to go back at a more popular time. I agree with those who comment on the condition. It could use some help but overall, I'd go back.

    Jun 27, 2012 at 7:42pm ·

  • Tonyc gave this place *
    Mega-Plex
    I really Found the place 257 Allen Ave. I was just wondering why the name outside the building is called Hush of instead MegaPlex? Never Been there yet will be going. in two weeks.

    May 13, 2012 at 4:43pm ·

  • jaybush gave this place *
    It is not bad
    i have been going to this club for awhile and i don't think it is as bad as the rest of these reviews make it out to be. The staff that works there now are friendly. Both the dry sauna and steam room work. the weekends are definitely the better time to go there. Sundays are the best anywhere between noon and six. Bear Sundays are not as popular as it once was but it still gets crowded. With the mixed crowd there is always something for everybody.

    Dec 26, 2011 at 3:50pm ·

  • archangelms gave this place *
    The worst Bath house I have ever been too!
    I arrived on Sept 18, 2010 (Saturday Night) around 10:30 pm. When I got to the window their was a big sign that said the wet and dry sauna are closed. When asked about this, I was told the dry sauna is as good as dead and would not be fixed since it was not fixable. The wet sauna had not been for working for sometime and they were not sure if and when it would be fixed. I asked them what is the purpose of having a bath house with no saunas to speak of. He said it costs money and they didn't have the resources to fix them. The floors (carpet) were the nastiest I have ever seen. The smell was like being in an old cottage with the stench of smelly feet. The towels and sheets had seen better days. I never saw one attractive guy from one from 11- 2.

    Sep 20, 2010 at 3:30am ·

  • callmesurfer gave this place *
    Not quite "mega"
    I was here day after 7/4 pn a Monday and the place is big! But there were only 6 people total. The steam room is not working. The TV room has 1 15 inch tv with bad videos. Tip: buy a locker before you commit to a room and save that $5. This place has potential because there is a straight titty bar next door. Good for "straight" boys to experiment.... they hve an alibi. But I tjink the video arcade nearby may be getting these patrons because there is a ton more action going on there at $5 a pop To get in. So compared to other cities this was a disappoontment. This was the closest obe to Boston so I had to see. Unfortumately Bostonians are probably not going to Providence on Monday nights and the local gays are not stepping up to the challenge. Maybe Friday or Sat is a better day to visit? Maybe bathhouses no longer serve any purpose in liberated New England? Or maybe its because the facilities suck?

    Jul 6, 2010 at 5:19am ·

  • musicman013 gave this place *
    nothing to brag about
    this place is in desperate need of a remodel! decent crowd when i was there on a weeknight. but steam room out of order and the shower area looked so disgusting i opted out of rinsing off. would not reccomend, unless u were meeting someone there.

    Jun 30, 2010 at 10:36pm ·

  • justsomeone gave this place *
    So much fun
    I love this place

    Feb 1, 2010 at 4:01pm ·

  • Dave1964 gave this place *
    Very Hot
    I was a bit nervous going there last night. I thought the place was a little seedy but that added to the flavor. I met a great guy there. He was so hot. It was his first time there too. I talked with him for a while before giving up on getting any then a half hour later I saw him with another guy. I guess he got over his inhibitions. It was really hot watching him. I'd definately go back. Would love to see him there again.

    Jan 6, 2010 at 8:42pm ·

  • Boundbear gave this place *
    A formerly grrreat place going to seed...
    When traveling to Providence I always try to coordinate my visits with the MegaPlex's "Bears at the Baths" Event - every first and third Sunday of the month. - It draws men from all over New England and I have never failed to hook up with some very hot and erotically adventurous Guys there. However the facility seems to be deteriorating more and more with each visit. The Steam Room has not been operational in months. One of the too few bathrooms was out of order. the shower room had several non-operational showers and visible mold was in every corner. On my last visit, every vending machine was broken as was the pay telephone out of service. Not overly clean either and the common rooms are showing a lot of wear and tear. A friendly staff and free coffee help, as dies the complimentary pizza at the Bears events - but I hope the owners invest a little money and bring the place back to what it once was.

    Sep 29, 2009 at 5:23am ·

  • I love this place. It's clean ...
    I love this place. It's clean and the staff is excellent. The best time is on the weekend when all the young hotties are out to play.

    This review was orginally posted on Bathhouseguides.com, which is now part of GayCities

    Jan 1, 2007 at 12:00pm ·

  • If you're looking to just rela...
    If you're looking to just relax and have some real good erotic experiences like I had, come here. There's a red light in the sauna now, so you can see enough.

    This review was orginally posted on Bathhouseguides.com, which is now part of GayCities

    Jan 1, 2007 at 12:00pm ·

  • The Mega Plex is the best place to get laid in town. I always get laid here no matter what time of day I go, and it's always busy. I like going at night and on weekends. Some of the rooms have private showers, which is one of the good features because you can wash off between sessions. I have been going there for over three years, and I have never been disappointed.

    This review was orginally posted on Bathhouseguides.com, which is now part of GayCities
    first review First to Review

    Jan 1, 2007 at 12:00pm ·





Back to Mega-Plex Bathhouse »